top of page

The Lockdown, Day 16: So Much Faith in Humanity

Anxiety is kicking in. Mostly because I want to do so much more for the frontliners and those that are greatly affected by the biggest crisis of our time, but I can only do so much. I guess I have to tell myself that doing whatever I can, no matter how big or small, can be enough. I read in a post, I forgot where I saw it so I apologize for not being able to credit this properly but it somehow gave me peace of mind:

"Don’t be afraid to say, I know I can’t do everything but I know I can do something."


My heart is overflowing with gratitude for all the modern heroes, and for all the private groups and individuals volunteering left and right. Donations are pouring in from everywhere, to all these different causes people put up and I have never felt such spirit of togetherness prior to this. There are some websites who have started collating all the fund raisers to help people navigate through all the different efforts (these are local):



March 31: COVID-19 positive: 2084, with a total of 88 who’ve passed, and 49 recoveries
There are now 17 frontliners who passed away, according to Philippine Medical Association

I have chosen to focus on internal efforts: mostly on employee experience and culture during a total work from home set-up. As part of an ad hoc team put together by our CEO to help everyone in the organization navigate through the sudden changes, I dedicated much of my time to help out in any way I can. We may not be at the frontline, nor at the end of the spectrum heavily impacted by the virus, but the emotional and psychological struggles that the workforce is going through these days aren't any less real. Being in the creative industry, I believe there is still a lot we can do to keep people's spirits up and disseminate important and truthful information. It is both mentally and physically challenging to do great work amidst a crisis.


Havas Ortega's Instagram features a Coping-19 series of ways to cope during this time of crisis. #4, particularly says:






"When I was a boy and I would see scary things in the news, my mother would say to me, 'Look for the helpers. You will always find people who are helping." - Mr. Rogers; from (red)'s Instagram



Comments


bottom of page