top of page

The Lockdown, Week 2: The YinYang

The theme of my week 2 was really all about re-evaluating almost everything in my life. I've been having trouble sleeping as I try to come to terms with reality that this is really happening in our lifetime. Those things you think only happen in movies– they are happening right outside. And to say that it feels unsettling, is a massive understatement.






To keep my sanity, I applied the principle of Yin and Yang. I have always believed in this school of thought and it has brought tremendous sense of balance into my life. Part of this philosophy is bringing harmony into dualities that may seem opposing, and that the extremity of one causes the other.


The world has gone extremely dark, and Yin energy flows across borders. I can only wish that the new world that will emerge out of this to be as bright, if not more, as it was dark. The thought of everyone coming out into the light once more, motivated to be better versions of ourselves, feeds me hope.


As for myself, what transformations will I put into action after this?


When everything is over, and we live our ordinary lives once more, think, what part of that ordinary is worth going back to? Everything will change after this. And may that change be for the better.

Re-evaluation 1: MAKE A DIFFERENCE

What is the cost of my indifference? This is. Coming out of this dark, I will make sure to use my right to make intelligent choices and put the proper people in power— hoping that there are still good souls willing to serve. I will choose to make time to reach out to those who need to feel valued and cared for— family, friends, and strangers.


"Of course, indifference can be tempting -- more than that, seductive. It is so much easier to look away from victims. It is so much easier to avoid such rude interruptions to our work, our dreams, our hopes. It is, after all, awkward, troublesome, to be involved in another person's pain and despair.
In a way, to be indifferent to that suffering is what makes the human being inhuman. Indifference, after all, is more dangerous than anger and hatred. Anger can at times be creative. One writes a great poem, a great symphony. One does something special for the sake of humanity because one is angry at the injustice that one witnesses. But indifference is never creative. Even hatred at times may elicit a response. You fight it. You denounce it. You disarm it.
Indifference, then, is not only a sin, it is a punishment." - Elie Wiesel, The Perils of Indifference


Re-evaluation 2: GRATITUDE IS A POWERFUL WEAPON

Seeing the world with gratitude will not only feed your soul, but it will fuel others' as well. In this time of war, gratitude is the only ammunition we can provide our frontliners. As helpless as I feel in not being able to do more, I have realized that showing gratitude in one way or another goes a long, long way. Carrying this into the said "new world" would make such a difference in other peoples' lives and in mine. Currently, the feeling of gratitude towards my managers and my organization for still holding the fort up for everyone is what motivates me to do the best work I can do.


Re-evaluation 3: THE COST OF MY CONVENIENCE

As simple as using tissue paper has become a re-evaluation for me. Using less squares of the toilet paper versus consuming it in excess was a big eye opener for me. I was living ever so mindlessly— taking for granted both the minute and important aspects of life. I will apply this Toilet Paper Squares mindset I have formulated into reminding me that my convenience is not worth the degradation of humanity. I would do well to produce less waste, consume less resources, spend less money, to be inconvenienced whether mildly or greatly, for mine and everyone else's sake. I would do well to live a little less for me, and a little more for others.


Re-evaluation 4: THINK MIDTERM

How ready was I? Emotionally & psychologically– quite stable in spite of so many things considered, I would say. As an introvert I wasn't so fazed by the thought of having to stay locked inside. But I do miss having the choice of when to head out, and I do miss the stability of the world's economy. Technologically, I have never been so thankful to have internet connection at home. I'm also thankful for all the tools that our company provided us with. That caused me not to panic when total work from home was announced. Financially— I was far from being ready. I knew that My Excel file (I call my 5 year financial plan My Excel file) was pretty risky but I was hoping that those 5 years allowed me to ride it out with just the right amount of ease. BUT I've learned the hard way that the unexpected can always happen. I have never ever regretted following an age-old advice as I do now. Always, ALWAYS put something aside for a rainy day. One of my vows after this storm would be taking better steps financially. It's better for me to think MIDTERM. Not looking too much into the long term (which I did), nor going YOLO and think too short term. Yes life is short and we should enjoy the now, but I would still keep it within a calculated range of enjoyment.


March 27: COVID-19 positive: 803, total of 54 who've passed and 31 recoveries

Comments


bottom of page